Users: How to set up user permissions

Note: For this article we have assumed that you have already created, or imported users into your system. 

In this article we are going to set up different sets of permissions for different users.

How do permissions work?

There are four different levels of permission sets:

Everyone - These permissions apply to all your users as a default, unless they are included in one of the other permission sets. Note that this default set of permissions always exists on your system, but will not be visible to you until you explicitly set it up (see below).

Department - These permissions apply to all your users set up under a selected Department that you have previously created via Manage Users > Departments.

User Group - These permissions apply to a custom defined group of users that you have previously created via Manage Users > User Groups.

Single User - These permissions apply to one user only.

There are no restrictions on the number of permissions that you can set up and a user can be included within more than one set however the permission that would be applied for their access would be that of the set that comes highest in the following order.

1. Single User overwrites 
2. User Group overwrites 
3. Department overwrites 
4. Everyone

For example, you have an Everyone permission set and then create a Department permission set for a Department called 'IT' that contains the users 'Blackadder', 'Baldric' and 'MrsMiggins'. The access that they have to the system will be what has been defined under the Department 'IT' permission set, as a Department overwrites any access defined by the Everyone permission set. 

You then decide that 'Baldric' and 'MrsMiggins' should have access to something that the rest of the 'IT' department don't have. So you create a User Group called 'Minions' that contains them, and then create a User Group permission set for 'Minions'. The access that they have to the system will be what has been defined under the User Group permission set for 'Minions', as a User Group overwrites any access defined by the Department and Everyone permission sets. 

In the same way, you could then set up a new Single User permission for 'MrsMiggins' which will overwrite all other permissions.

Note that if a user is a member of multiple Departments or User Groups (and does not have a Single User permission set) then the most restrictive permission set that they are covered by will take precedence.

Setting up or editing User Permissions

  1. To edit an existing permission set: from the Administrator Homepage select User Permissions then select the permission type you would like to edit from the Choose a permission to display drop-down and go to step 2 below.


    To create a new permission set: from the Administrator Homepage select User Permissions > Add a New User Permission then select the permission type you would like to create from the Add Permission For drop-down.
    Depending on which type you choose, you may then need to select a further option:

    Department - Departments (created via Users > Departments) that do not already have a permission set up will show on the drop-down.

    User Group - User Groups (created via Users > User Groups) that do not already have a permission set up will show on the drop-down.

    User - Choose the name of the user from the drop-down. All users on the system, that do not already have a permission set, are displayed.
  2. Once you've chosen the type of permission you wish to create or edit the User Permissions screen is displayed. This is where you specify the access that those users covered by the new permission set will have.
    Here you can restrict the number of bookings that can be made, specify if booking on behalf of other users is allowed, whether pending bookings can be approved, etc.

    For more on Pending Bookings and Resource Owners see this article: Pending Bookings and Resource Owners
  3. The Booking Limit per Resource section allows you to set how far in advance users can make bookings for each room/resource, or set them as not bookable. Click on the + next to Booking Limit per Resource to expand the section and you will see all your rooms/resources grouped by  To set the value of the default booking limit for the entire permission set use the drop down next to Default booking limit. This will then be the value automatically set for rooms/resources that do not have some specific limit applied. For example, if you set this as 6 months then any rooms with Default Limit set against them would then be bookable for up to 6 months in advance.

    To change the limit against a certain room/resource choose the option you would like set from the drop down next to the room/resource.
    If the users under the permission should not be allowed to book a room/resource select Not Bookable.
    If the users should still be able view rooms they are not able to book ensure that Read-only access to rooms marked Not Bookable is ticked under Booking Limits.
    You can bulk update all rooms under a category to the same value by clicking Bulk Update next to the category description.
    Select the relevant option from the drop down and then click Update.
  4. Once you have made your selections or changes click on the green  Save button at the foot of the page.
  5. To delete a permission just click the red Delete button displayed on the top right hand corner of the permission.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us